Curse of Shadows and Thorns: A Dark Fantasy Romance (The Broken Kingdoms Book 1)

£9.9
FREE Shipping

Curse of Shadows and Thorns: A Dark Fantasy Romance (The Broken Kingdoms Book 1)

Curse of Shadows and Thorns: A Dark Fantasy Romance (The Broken Kingdoms Book 1)

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

It’s still a good story and I look forward to reading the rest to see how this story continues and if it’s similar in more ways. Mucho tiempo atrás, los antepasados de Elise le arrebataron la corona al rey de las hadas; ahora, ella, como sobrina del actual rey, debe asegurar que su familia mantenga el trono, lo que significa casarse con quien le indiquen, mientras que ella prefiere escaparse a garitos de juego con los criados. Though I don't know if that's because the same person narrates it and I've just connected the two or because the stories are similar. I wasn't overly surprised when one of the biggest secrets was revealed because the unexpected disappearances during his illness was never truly explained and Legion was not giving much away. Like, the author wanted a core group of friends to get that found family vibe but it didn't work at all.

I am very convinced that the author did not have an editor especially seeing how quickly these books have been released, so clearly no editor has looked at any of these and you can see it in the writing to there’s plenty of mistakes. I went along with it and did enjoy the angsty parts, but that one somewhat spice scene we got… I felt it happened too abruptly. While I do have minor issues with lack of clarity on certain plot points and poor world building and development of ideas, there is one glaring issue that I would much rather talk about - the way this book deals with race.Had a lot of potential, what with the funny rebellious princess who doesnt care for titles (also missing some fingers? I liked the premise but everything seemed to happen so fast that there wasn't any time to really savor the relationship between the hero and the heroine. The ways in which the alt right do this are not bound by historical accuracy by any means, but designed to push an agenda.

La autora me ha dejado con ganas de conocer más detalles sobre el mundo que ha creado y sobre el pasado del reino. This review is one BIG spoiler, so if you do want to read this book, maybe stop reading now (Quick ! This is inherently problematic - it removes the ‘good’ white people from the issue, absolving them of the blame and placing it onto others; while refusing to acknowledge the systems behind and complicity with the issues at hand. You can make the characters use Norse terms, braid their hair and carry hatchets into battle, but it doesn’t make them Vikings. As the niece of the brutal, current king, her purpose is to do whatever is asked to ensure her family keeps the throne for centuries to come.I was initially engrossed in Elise's current circumstances, attempting to find her place in her Royal family and new news of suitors. Filled with luscious world building, banter-filled romance, and epic battles, this first book in the Broken Kingdoms series is part Viking, part Beauty and the Beast, and perfect for fans of The Shadows Between Us. This seems somewhat at odds with the surface level messages on race and slavery presented by the book (i. I had to immediately start the second book because I absolutely fell in love with Elise and Legion and need to know what happens next! Will I read next I will try hoping that author took more time to polish writing story, eliminating stilted wording.

He's a tortured morally grey hero and I can't wait for him to make me question why I'm still on his side. I was a little confused to start with I found the dialogue a little Jane Austin but it fitted the the characters and the story setting. They seemed like they went from "Ok, we can be friends after I felt betrayed by you" to " I love you, never leave me and I'll die for you!I will say that with the book series having 7 books and this book being 350 pages it can be a lot and there are parts that are somewhat slow in the book but I don't think the book needs to be Shorter or any parts taken out becauyes there's so much back story going on that each part of the book is taking a step towards telling the story and I think it's needed. No os diré que ha sido el libro más original que he leído, ya que tiene ciertas semejanzas a De sangre y cenizas pero aún así lo disfruté y me ha hecho pasar un buen rato, que es lo más importante. I have to mention that I seriously felt like I had missed an introduction book for this series because SO MUCH of the worldbuilding just isn't explained.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop